Going on leave, making my way home

7 days a week, 12 hours a day can get old after a while but if you don’t count the days, before you know it it is time for R & R leave. Got on the chopper at our site and headed to Bagram AFB where I caught a charter flight to Dubai. I had about 7 hours between the time I landed and my flight to the states so I got in a cab and headed to the mall – it was something to do besides hang around the airport. It was something quick and interesting to do. The cab ride was about 15 minutes and the driver stayed with me so he could take me back – a convenient and smart move because cabs don’t normally hang out at the mall.

The mall was pretty cool – literally! There was a full size hockey rink,


an aquarium with the world’s largest single pane of plexiglass certified by the Guinness book people (that plaque on the left signified it),


along with waterfalls and other architectural art pieces.


There are plenty of high end stores catering to the wealthy that live or come through Dubai


and outside of the mall was a man-made lake similar to the one at the Bellagio in Vegas, complete with dancing fountains of water, but bigger. The building on the right is the one that they used in the filming of Mission Impossible 4 last year.


Another view looking up…

Burj Khalifa skyscraper

On the way back to the airport, we went to a T.G.I. Friday’s and I ordered a BBQ burger – first real burger I’d had in 5 months and it was GOOOOD. I bought dinner for my cabbie since he was good enough to stick with me and take me back to the terminal. He said it was the first time anyone had done something like that for him and appreciated it. Made my 11:50 p.m. flight and, after 15 hours sitting in economy plus, I was in DC.

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in Military Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going on leave, making my way home

  1. gundam says:

    thanks.very good blog and very good share.

  2. Awesome website. Bookmarked it and shown my friends!

  3. Can you tell me why your blog post only loading part way and then not going any further? I’ve tried reloading the page a couple of times but I’m still unable to view the entire post. SwOu71er.

Leave a Reply

