New feature- Badass of the week: Alcibiades

I came across this site by accident and was so entertained by Ben’s writing style that I decided to pay homage to it by listing a new badass from his list every Friday with a link to its’ original page. Created by Ben Thompson who wrote a couple of books that are surprisingly titled BADASS and BADASS: Birth of a Legend, real and fictional characters from history are featured every week but I will only sample from the real characters on the list because fact is stranger than fiction and sometimes a lot more entertaining. I know Ben’s site is interesting, but resist the temptation to look through the whole list – it will be more suspenseful if you let me show you my picks.

My first choice is a guy named Alcibiades, apparently a real ass but so good-looking, popular, and accomplished as a soldier that he pretty much did what he wanted to do and got away with it (most of the time) until he pushed his luck a little too far – isn’t that the way it always is with these guys? How the hell do you say his name anyway?

Give it up for Alcibiades– my first badass choice of the week!

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in history, humor, Military Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New feature- Badass of the week: Alcibiades

  1. That was pretty damn funny, thanks for sharing!

  2. Lmao! It’s pronouced, ‘Al-sih-bye-ah-dees’

    My money’s on Odysseus, the smartest of the Greeks…probably because I’m a nerd. Nerds always want to feel like their brain can make up for their complete and utter lack of brawn.

    In that spirit, I recently tried to convince myself thusly by comparing the relative merits of Jean-Luc Picard and James T. Kirk… http://michaeljagdeo.wordpress.com/2011/10/26/comedy-for-nerds-jean-luc-picard-vs-james-t-kirk/

    • John Sep says:

      Thanks for the help with that name- those Greeks had some real tongue twisters. I liked your post on JLP and JTK- it was funny how you used the “sexier?” pics of them for comparison. I’ll leave that up to the girls to debate that side of the arguement.

      • Hey John,

        THANKS FOR NOTICING! I’m learning more and more about the art of blogging. I started out very mechanically, using subheadings, boldings, italics, and blue font to emphasize my point and make it easy on the eyes (bc I’ve read that internet readers don’t read, they scan).

        Now, I’m trying to be a little more holistic in the writing, which is including pictures throughout a post that relate to one another, if possible.

        Dude, you’re like Top Gun. Or at least the Lead Aerospace Engineer in Top Gun. If they made a movie about you, it’d be the ‘getting the plane ready for the battle’ montage…only for two hours. It must be cool to really understand/not understand/understand/not undestand quantum mechanics…

  3. John Sep says:

    Quantum mechanics wasn’t my thing- I am a pilot and crawled through almost every cavity in the Space Shuttle fleet (doesn’t sound good when I put it like that). I wasn’t an engineer- I just made it look good. (LOL)

    • Dude that’s awesome…I wanted to be an astronaut…and then I found out you had to be more than interested in science; you had to be good at it.

      Oh well. I guess I’ll just have to admire black holes from afar, intellectually-speaking.

Leave a Reply

