Nov 11, 2010- KSC Update, end of an era

I took the voluntary layoff on October 1, 2010. It was a little scary and weird to know that after 22 years, my work is done here. Am glad I got to know the people I worked with and met through this great adventure helping to make history. Here are some shots of my last days:


Got to SCO inside Endeavour for the last time. I think I even powered it down that day.

They had a party in the transfer isle of the VAB for those of us leaving- it was a nice gesture.

Got to sign my name on one of the walls,


and we got to participate in photo ops that will help us remember our co-workers- this was our crew.

It was a great run (22 years!) and I’ll have many memories to cherish in the future. This also marks the end of my blog transfer, so the following entries will be from my adventures here in Afghanistan. Had some interesting experiences over here…

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in aviation, Aviation and Space, history and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nov 11, 2010- KSC Update, end of an era

  1. Bill Chance says:

    Very interesting story – I came here reading blogs on the Shuttle (am writing an entry on it to come out tonight) and found yours. Will be back, fascinating stuff.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • John Sep says:

      Thanks for checking out my blog, Bill. It is kind of sad that the program is over and these birds are becoming static displays, but we have to move forward. I left in 2010 so that someone else who wasn’t as marketable in this economy could stay a little longer- hope it helped someone out.

Leave a Reply

