May 11, 2009- Another great launch

STS-125 is on its way– I have been working at the pad prepping it for launch. I was in the commander’s seat when the RSS was rolled back last night at 1714 hr. It was a cool view out of the windows. I will be staying out there since Endeavour, our bird, is ready to go on Pad B poised to act as a rescue vehicle if needed. From the launch video, Atlantis looks pretty clean so I don’t think we will need to do that. Once Atlantis lands, I will be at the OPF (Orbiter Processing Facility) receiving it at the door and riding it into the bay for final positioning and jacking to maintenance height– another 13 hour day in the can, but it will be a good experience.

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in aviation, Aviation and Space, history, science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

