Oct. 30, 2006- Work, work, work, work work

Better mood today. Just a little tired.

Worked late last night getting Discovery ready for rollout. Did some tile repair work on the vehicle early in the shift then helped with preps for weight and C.G. measurement operations. Should return to my electrical jobs once this program that loaned me to the tile group is over. I don’t mind the work but some people think that working on tile is beneath them. Working with the TPS of the orbiter is more of an art than a mechanical or electrical job and it is one of the most important parts, as we saw with Columbia– No tile, no return trip.

Whne I go back, I will finish my training as a Space Craft Operator (SCO). I am looking forward to it because it is similar to flying– SCO’s power the vehicle up and down from the flight deck, support testing with the Firing Room, and other related tasks. When I was on loan to the pad, I supported some testing with the shuttle in the launch position. It was pretty cool and I was glad to help out because it was a nice change of pace from the orbiter Processing Facility where I work. I took that picture of Discovery at the pad while I was coming into work. Nice having little perks like that.

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in Aviation and Space and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oct. 30, 2006- Work, work, work, work work

  1. Thanks for the write up! Also, I noticed that your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

Leave a Reply

