Nov. 15, 2006- S0017 Launch test from for December

Dry run being done right now for the launch team and the astronauts out at the pad- they flew in yesterday. They do everything right up to lighting the engines and boosters so everyone knows how its going to go on launch day. Here are some cool shots of Discovery rolling out to the pad at a blistering 1 MPH– (Check out the guys along the railing of the Mobile Launch Pad (MLP) atop the crawler for scale).

This is a shot of it rolling out of the VAB after midnight along the crawlerway. The building to the left is the LCC which is where the firing rooms are.That is the room where you see everyone sitting behind consoles during the launch countdown. There is a blast shield (the shutter looking things) over the windows. The next pic,

is Discovery enroute outside of the pad area (credit NASA for most of my pics- I’m just picking out the cool ones).

About John Sep

Former Space Shuttle aerospace technician and private pilot now looking towards the next great adventure. Soon to be heading home from my overseas assignment! Transfered my blog from MySpace to here so check my older stuff for info and pictures from my days in space shuttle processing- lots of behind the scenes stuff! He drew pics, flew planes, fought fires and helped launch people into space - what will he do next?
This entry was posted in Aviation and Space and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nov. 15, 2006- S0017 Launch test from for December

  1. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i’m happy to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to don’t forget this website and give it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

